Go Back   The Ledge > Main Forums > Post-Rumours
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Make the Ads Go Away! Click here.

Old 12-16-2009, 07:22 PM
Addicted Ledgie

Default Paper Doll

This is my first time posting in this forum, but Paper Doll came on on the CD I was listening to today, and I was busy so I didnt hit next like I usually do, I really dug it. What do you guys think of it?
Old 12-16-2009, 08:40 PM
Addicted Ledgie

Quote:
This is my first time posting in this forum
Yay! Bring some coffee -- it's kinda quiet over here these days. Wish I could have been here when it was livelier!

As for Paper Doll -- it's Stevie's lyrics with music by Rick and his friend, the late John Herron, right? As much as I appreciate most of Rick's contributions to FM, this isn't one of my favorites. I think the lyrics are clever and fun, but the musical arrangement is just a bit too boppy for me. Never really figured out why it was on the 25 Yrs Box Set.
Old 12-16-2009, 11:36 PM
Addicted Ledgie

I'm thinkin about going out and buying Behind the Mask and Time.
I know critics said it sucked, but im thinkin i wanna listen to them just to say I have
Old 12-17-2009, 12:31 AM
Addicted Ledgie

You should give them a try.

Only, you have to listen to them with an open mind. They aren't from the Rumours era band so don't expect the music to be all that similar.

Personally, I really like both albums and have become a big fan of both Billy Burnette and Bekka Bramlett as a result.

As for the song "Paper Doll," eh, it's okay. I'm not crazy about the music or the lyrics, but it's passable.
Old 12-17-2009, 10:18 AM
Senior Ledgie

Paper Doll was an adjustment for me. It's not that I didn't like it, it was just different. Way different. But after a few more plays, I came to like the song. It's not a fave; but I don't skip it when it plays.