Go Back   The Ledge > Main Forums > Lindsey Buckingham
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Make the Ads Go Away! Click here.

Old 11-12-2002, 07:58 PM
Addicted Ledgie

Question Maybe once, maybe twice

Alright, so I got my annual "Gypsy" attack... Listening to this song over and over, the Stevie images and vocals, Christine's beautiful keyboards, the syncrhonization between the bass and the drums... and that solo at the end.

Since I'm no expert at guitars at all, and I'm only learning to play simple chords I can't really talk about technicisms in Lindsey's guitar playing on this track. BUT, I'd really like to hear the input from our guitarists here... How's this final part played? Is it just ONE solo with ONE guitar, done at such an incredible speed, or are there overdubbs? How does he manage to transport it to a live performance? Am I the only one who thinks this solo is right up there with the best performances in the history of music?

I want to know some more details about this, if anyone can provide more info, thank you very much.

Song of the moment - Gypsy
Old 11-12-2002, 08:35 PM
Addicted Ledgie

Cool Lightning strikes!

Hi Cristian

When I read your post I pulled out Mirage to have a re-listen to Gypsy because I thought maybe there was something there that I'd forgotten about......! Well, basically, I mean this in a totally un-stupid, un-immodest etc etc etc way, but that solo is really not that difficult to play. He plays it in a very similar way live aswell. On the Mirage album version, there are other guitars playing, but providing rhythm only...THAT solo that you're talking about is only one guitar. He's using a delay effect with it, which means that every note that's played is "recorded and re-played" by the FX box, and this makes it flow better and sound fuller than it otherwise would. He uses the same effect on stage both on Mirage and the Dance.