Go Back   The Ledge > Main Forums > Rumours
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Make the Ads Go Away! Click here.

Old 04-25-2008, 03:01 PM
Addicted Ledgie

Default Why is Helen Hunt Awkward

This is a review of the new Helen Hunt movie, Then She Found Me. A woman, April, is united with her biological mother Bernice. What I want to know is, if being an FM fan is one of the symptoms of Bernice's awkwardness, as described by the reviewer:

Excerpt from The Star:

http://http://www.thestar.com/entert...article/418195

If the movie had turned Bernice into a contemptible clown, it would have soured everything. In fact, the relationship of April and Bernice is more interesting than April's affair with Frank, and constitutes the soul of the movie. Need encounters need, but not in a craven manner.

April, with her perpetual air of being nonplussed and her awkwardness – she leaves coins instead of dollar bills in a tip jar, explaining, "I'm a teacher," and confesses that her favourite rock group is Fleetwood Mac – forms an effective contrast to Bernice.
Old 04-25-2008, 03:45 PM
Addicted Ledgie

Quote:
Originally Posted by michelej1 View Post
This is a review of the new Helen Hunt movie, Then She Found Me. A woman, April, is united with her biological mother Bernice. What I want to know is, if being an FM fan is one of the symptoms of Bernice's awkwardness, as described by the reviewer:

Excerpt from The Star:

http://http://www.thestar.com/entert...article/418195

If the movie had turned Bernice into a contemptible clown, it would have soured everything. In fact, the relationship of April and Bernice is more interesting than April's affair with Frank, and constitutes the soul of the movie. Need encounters need, but not in a craven manner.