The Ledge

The Ledge (http://ledge.fleetwoodmac.net/index.php)
-   Christine McVie (http://ledge.fleetwoodmac.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Christine's keyboard talents (http://ledge.fleetwoodmac.net/showthread.php?t=35886)

profjohn 04-24-2008 01:18 PM

Christine's keyboard talents

Over the years, I've never heard much discussion about Christine's keyboard (or piano) talent. I'm no musician, so I was wondering what others might say. Was she as good a keyboard player as she was a singer?

Villavic 04-24-2008 05:13 PM

I'm not musician either, but I loved how it sounds when she played keyboards. But I agree I never read any comment about her being a gret keyboard player, as I read about Lindsey being a very good guitarist

Gailh 04-25-2008 03:02 AM

Christine has never claimed to be a vituoso keyboard player.

Her style was perfect (?) though for the Rumours lineup of FM

Gail

nicepace 04-25-2008 06:31 AM

I think Christine's own statement that her keyboard is a part of the rhythm section says it all. She never thought of her keyboard as being a "lead" instrument. That was the guitarist's job. Playing flashy solos on the keyboards was for some other band, not Fleetwood Mac. I'm certain that she'd be capable of playing flashy solos if the arrangements of the songs called for them, but they almost never did.

Nonetheless, some of my favorite Mac songs are the ones that feature her keyboards most prominently, because I just love the way she plays when her playing is an important part of the arrangement of a song. This is true from the blues playing of the 'Christine Perfect' album, to the almost-psychedelic-rock playing of "Homeward Bound," "The Ghost," and other songs from the Welch-era Mac, to the piano ballads ("Songbird," etc.).