The Ledge

The Ledge (http://ledge.fleetwoodmac.net/index.php)
-   Rumours (http://ledge.fleetwoodmac.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Let's Talk About Mick (http://ledge.fleetwoodmac.net/showthread.php?t=44345)

SortaSavageLike 07-31-2010 03:27 PM

Let's Talk About Mick

You know, the tall crazy guy who sits behind Stevie and hits things with sticks. I noticed that no one ever talks about him as a musician, so if figured I'd get the ball rolling. I know Mick gets a lot of crap for putting his name on wine, writing questionable tell-all books, and being an unbathed coked-out weirdo for the better part of two decades. But as a drummer, and really, that's his major contribution to the band, I think the guy is pretty damned solid. I'm not an expert on drumming in any way, but I've never heard him screw up spectacularly, and seems more than capable of keeping a rhythm. I can usually identify an unheard Fleetwood Mac song as such based on his drumming alone. I wouldn't put him up there with John Bonham or Stewart Copeland, but one listen to Mystery To Me should erase any idea that the guy can't drum. Too bad his drumming seems to get more and more lost in the mix after Rumours came out.

Now, if you want hear someone who can't drum, come over to my place and listen to the guy two houses down the street from me who practices every afternoon. He can't even drum in 4/4 time without every other beat piling into a sloppy drum fill, and his solos sound like his kit is tumbling down from the top stairs of the Washington Monument.

michelej1 07-31-2010 08:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SortaSavageLike (Post 903184)
I can usually identify an unheard Fleetwood Mac song as such based on his drumming alone.