PDA

View Full Version : Different sounds

nightbird28
01-22-2003, 10:23 PM
Hi, this is my first time posting in this particular part of the ledge. I've found out during a recent visit with a friend, to which I put in a pre-lindsey/stevie mac cd and he was clueless to who it was. :D

I noticed for the really the first time how much different sounding the mac used to be. I'm honestly think the band should have had a name change somewhere down the line since the sounds are so different. There are though some common threads throughout the changes in the mac, but still. What do you think?

Also, does anyone know if the new peter green and splinter group cd is going to be sound like. I"ve found myself getting more and more into liking peter's stlye over lindsey's a bit and wanted to know what solo cd do i need to get.:confused:

wetcamelfood
01-23-2003, 09:56 AM
It probably is due to that "common thread" though all the music as to why it's cool to retain the FM name throughout etc. JMHO. :)

I guess it depends on what you're listening to. If you're listening to, say, the Blue Horizon stuff, then yeah, sure it's dif to the "Rumours" stuff but once they started with Reprise in '69 and even more so the closer they got to '75, I'd say the stuff got more similar sounding as it went along for the most part though BT & MTM are the closest I'd say overall though it'd be better to have a comp of all the stuff from pre '75 that sounds the cloest to the BN days but that's JMHO (again) though. :) Maybe ChiliD can whip up a good list for us here on this topic?! :)

I'd imagine the new PGSG album "Reaching the cold 100" will be similar to "Time traders/Destiny road" sounding but we'll see I guess. Those would be the two PGSG albums I'd recommend (to start with) anyways. :) For PG's older solo stuff, if you like free form, you'll LOVE "The end of the game" but aside from that, you'd be best to start with "In the skies" & "White sky".

Hope that's of some help. :)

John

nightbird28